GTA Rewards Winners of Love Chocolate, Love Adventure Campaign

A group photo of directorate , management and the winners of the competition

The Ghana Tourism Authority (GTA) has rewarded winners of the Love Chocolate, Love Adventure online campaign which was initiated as part of this year’s National Chocolate Day celebrations.

The campaigned required participants to identify pictures of some tourist sites that were shared on the various social media pages of the GTA.

Presenting the awards to the winners in a brief ceremony at the GTA head office in Accra, Chief Executive Officer of the Authority, Mr. AKwasi Agyeman implored them to ‘’help us promote domestic tourism by sharing images of visits to sites.’’

He said that his outfit was very much concerned about promoting domestic tourism and would embark on a rigorous domestic drive. Mr. Akwasi Agyeman   congratulated the winners for their keen interest shown in participating in the on-line quiz competition which have enabled them to win awards.

He told them that tourism is a multifaceted industry which includes people like the farmer who grows the corn, the one who prepares the pop corn with the corn as well as the tourist who spends money to buy the pop corn at a destination.

The campaign which was originally to reward five people saw seven people being awarded instead.

The Acting Marketing Manager of the Ghana Tourism Authority said, ‘’Our interest was so not much on who was going to win; our interest was to see whether people are interested in tourist attractions in Ghana. So although we said five and we had arranged and agreed with our partners that we are going to get five, when we finished the whole event, we took all the correct answers which were on three platforms, Facebook, Twitter and Instagram and surprisingly we had a lot of interaction on Facebook and Instagram’’ he added.

The seven-day on-line quiz competition was to reward winners to have overnight stays in some hotels and visit some tourist attractions across the Country and also to encourage domestic tourism.

The award winners are Emmanuel Aboagye Mensah, Ezekiel Ola Quansah, Helina Agyeman and Aquila Mpomaa Boamah. The rest are Nana Oye Boamah, Akua Twum and Mawunyo Dake.

Awards include overnight stay at some selected hospitality facilities such as Zaina Lodge, Royal Senchi and visit to tourist sites.